Area players, coaches earn top Southwest District football honors

Nine area players and four area coaches have been selected for top All-Southwest District high school football honors.

Selected as offensive players of the year in their respective divisions were Fenwick senior running back Jack Fessler (Division III), Anna junior running back Riley Huelskamp (D-V), Mechanicsburg senior running back Joey Mascadri (D-VI) and Lehman Catholic senior quarterback Elliott Gilardi (D-VII).

»RELATED: Football playoffs an Alter tradition

»RELATED: D-I Southwest District football

Area defensive players of the year were Troy senior lineman Sam Jackson (D-II), Chaminade Julienne senior defensive end Shane Cokes (D-III), Middletown Madison senior lineman Max Evans (D-V), Covington senior linebacker Parker Dysinger (D-VI) and Fort Loramie sophomore linebacker Max Hoying (D-VII).

Chosen as coaches of the year were Xenia’s Trace Smitherman (D-II), Bellbrook’s Jeff Jenkins (D-III), Steve Poff of Madison (D-V) and Spencer Wells of Fort Loramie (D-VII).

»RELATED: List of area seniors who signed

»RELATED: D-II All-Southwest District football

A media panel of Southwest District reps, one of nine districts throughout the state, announced the teams on Thursday. Players are nominated by coaches and voted on by each district’s media panel.

First-team members are forwarded for All-Ohio football honors. The All-Ohio teams will be chosen by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association and released by the Ohio High School Athletic Association during the state championship week.

»RELATED: UC lands Xenia standout

»RELATED: D-III All-Southwest District football

Smitherman led Xenia to a 7-3 record and a double-overtime win at Trotwood-Madison in his second season as the Buccaneers’ coach.

The Southwestern Buckeye League produced two coaches of the year in Jenkins and Poff. Jenkins guided Bellbrook (SWBL Southwestern) to its third 10-0 regular-season and into the D-III, Region 11 playoffs. Madison (SWBL Buckeye) also went 10-0. Madison, now 12-0, will play Wheelersburg (11-1) in a D-V, Region 20 final at Hilliard Darby at 7 p.m. Saturday.

»FOOTBALL PLAYOFFS: It’s Coldwater vs. Marion Local

»RELATED: D-IV All-Southwest District football

Previously the QB coach at Wapakoneta, Wells is in his first season at Loramie after succeeding Whit Parks. Loramie went 9-1 in the regular season, losing only to defending D-VII state champ Minster in the opener and winning the Cross County Conference championship in its second season of CCC affiliation.

Loramie (11-1) will play Convoy Crestview (11-1) in a D-VII, Region 28 final at Lima Senior Stadium on Saturday.

»RELATED: Familiar feel, despite missing some regulars

»RELATED: D-V All-Southwest District football

The Southwest District’s Mr. Football nomination is Cincinnati Winton Woods junior running back Miyan Williams. He had 2,600 yards rushing and 33 touchdowns. The defending D-II state runner-up, Winton Woods (11-1) will play Anderson (9-3) in a D-II, Region 8 final on Friday.

»RELATED: D-VI All-Southwest District football

»RELATED: D-VII All-Southwest District football

»RELATED: Lebanon leaving GWOC

»RELATED: Northmont falls to Pickerington Central again

»PHOTOS: Northmont vs. Pickerington Central, football playoffs

»RELATED: 7 things to know about the football playoffs

»RELATED: Final football power rankings

»RELATED: Area teams in football playoffs

»FACEBOOK: For more sports you should like Marc Pendleton

»TWITTER: You should like @MarcPendleton

»FACEBOOK LIVE: Hartsock and Pendleton on football playoffs

About the Author